Let’s take a walk down the Shoreline with Kingsland Road’s Connor – Part One

… Or maybe not, a trip to the Gym will do!

 Earlier this month we got the chance to chat with the lovely Connor from Kingsland Road to get to know the band a little better and see what they have planned for the future.

Kingsland Road Album

This interview has plenty of laughs, Tour Gossip, The Queen and King Con… you heard us right! Check it out and let us know what you think.


 – Brumotions: Hello

Connor: I’m in the gym at the minute so I’m just going to go find somewhere quiet…two seconds… alright I’m somewhere, I’m cool.

 – Brumotions: So for those who don’t know you guys, what makes Kingsland Road, Kingsland Road?

Connor: I don’t think there’s anything that defines us. I don’t know how to answer that one… we’re always late, not for important things obviously, we are weirdo’s, which is one of the main ones and everybody has beards … apart for me…. I don’t think there are any other boybands with beards.

 – Brumotions: …Actually no they don’t do they.

Connor: I think they like having beards because it makes them feel like they’re in a man band rather than a boyband… I’m comfortable not having a beard.

– Brumotions: If you could describe your sound in three words what would they be?

Connor: Weird, Funky, Pop… I don’t know.

 – Brumotions: So your debut album is coming out March 15th, how does it feel?

Connor: It’s really weird, the official statement that I said myself was that if someone had said to us two years ago, when we were first starting that we would have an album we’d slap em in the face and laugh at them.

I don’t think that we ever realised that it would happen and now that it has and its full of our own songs that we have written ourselves and spent a lot of time on, it feels a lot better so it’s cool.

 – Brumotions: So at the moment is it still very surreal?

Connor: Yeah, still very, very surreal because obviously we started out just to gig and write music and we didn’t realise eventually we’d have all of the songs we’ve written on an album, on iTunes. Everything that’s happened in the past couple of years has been unbelievable really and we have kinda surpassed our own expectations and it keeps happening which is amazing, we couldn’t be happier at the minute.

 – Brumotions: What can we expect from the album and which track is your personal favourite?

Connor: We are proud of all of the tracks as we wrote them all which I think is quite rare nowadays that every album that is released is written purely yourself which is the case of ours, every song we wrote, drawing from different things and stuff that happened to us. All the lads would have a different favourite, mines probably ‘Freedom’, it’s one of the first songs we wrote when we came from The X Factor and I just like it, I feel a connection with it.

I think every track is different that’s the thing, we listened through the other day together  and every track is just really different, we didn’t plan just to go into the studio and write different sounding tracks, it kinda just happened and its really cool and organic, normally albums have 1 sound throughout and ours kind of has different sounds which is cool .

 – Brumotions: We are really looking forward to it.

Connor: I’m glad.

 – Brumotions: So you’ve also got a tour coming up soon can you give us any spoilers?

Connor: No spoilers, I know there’s one very exciting thing happening in London, which we are working on at the minute, I can’t give too much away but we’ve been practising and its awesome … it’s just going to be a really cool tour. It’s the tour before we head to America so we want to give the UK a massive musical hug and kiss before we head off out there for a bit and then obviously come back but it’s going to be amazing. We are very excited to tour and we love touring, that’s where we like being the most, on stage, so we are excited to see all of our fans from around the UK.

 – Brumotions: What are your favourite tracks to play live?

Connor: Some of them we haven’t played live yet off the album but my favourite to play live … I don’t know I just love performing live all the time. I know the rest of the lads love performing ‘Shoreline’, I know like Josh and Thomps they like ‘Shoreline’ live I like ‘Walk Away’ which is one of my favourites, I just love how rocky it is and ‘He’s Got It Coming’ which is on the album, which we performed on our last tour but we have revamped it a bit there’s a new tune to it and there might be a little rap to it … who knows… there’s a little exclusive for you guys don’t tell anybody.

 – Brumotions: Can you give us some gossip on what it’s like to tour with you guys are you all work and no party?

Connor: Its smelly… well not THAT smelly, its tiring and you know what, we are party animals sometimes but when they’re tired we do NOT party. I think the last tour we didn’t really go out, it was the same time as our EP and our single launch so we were shooting from Glasgow to London to do Lorraine and it was a bit mental so we didn’t actually have time to go out and party, we had a party on our last night, which was when we released our EP and we were in the club at like one o’clock at night and it went live and we were at number two in the charts on iTunes so we were buzzing and we got absolutely smashed, it was amazing. Yeah we do like to party but at the same time we are serious about music and performing so we don’t like to get so messed up that we can’t sing and perform as that’s the main thing we like doing.

 – Brumotions: So is partying crossed off your list for this tour too then?

Connor: Yeah, I think it is actually, especially in America as well, it is very cramped as well, the last tour we had we were in a car as our tour van broke down, so we were in a 5 seater car and we were so rammed, it was horrible.

 – Brumotions: Speaking of tour and live shows have you ever asked for anything ridiculous on a tour rider?

Connor: NO, aha we’re alright actually with our riders we only ask for like beer and sandwiches oh and towels and that’s it cause we get really sweaty. The other lads like to have a beer before they go on and I just get hungry so I like sandwiches before I go on that’s it, that’s all we ask for.

 – Brumotions: You should start asking for outrageous stuff.

Connor: We’ve been to gigs before where all the riders have been laid out on a table for the artists and we had the smallest by far, we’ve never got used to that so we’ve never took the mick out of it, it’s just the simple things that we need.

 – Brumotions: This is a question we ask everyone we interview, if you were to take the queen on a date where would you take her and why?

Connor: I reckon I’d take her to Buckingham Palace because I don’t think she’s ever been there; I don’t think she lives there does she?

 – Brumotions: I think she lives there sometimes…

Connor: It would be cool to take her somewhere like Buckingham palace where she SUPPOSEDLY lives but…. Surely she doesn’t live there, with everybody watching her all the time. I’d take her on a tour of London as I think she’d appreciate that, as I’m sure she never gets to see the proper dingy parts, I’d take her to Soho.

 – Brumotions: What about the London Eye?

Connor: Yeah exactly, and take her on the tube and stuff as I think she’s been deprived of that, then we’d go to McDonalds and have like a Big Mac as I bet she’s never had one.

 – Brumotions: Would you pay?

Connor: Yeah, I suppose, and then we’d head to the cinema or something, but we wouldn’t go in the deluxe seats, we’d go in the proper rubbish seats and give her the experience of living like us… she’d love that, it’s like a Romcom where a rich girl goes out with a poor kid and he romances her with all the poor things he could do, I think I’d win her over and I’d be the future king if that happened.

 – Brumotions: King Con, it’s got a bit of a ring to it hasn’t it.

 – Connor: Exactly, King Con.


#Klanders, keep your eyes open for PART TWO which will be posted later this week!

It has even more laughs , Josh as a lifeguard, Cats and YOUR fan questions!

Kingsland Road’s debut album ‘We Are The Young’ is out NOW and can be purchased online on ITunes OR at your local HMV.

The band are also currently on tour  – Tickets can be purchased at:  http://www.livenation.co.uk/artist/kingsland-road-tickets

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Let’s take a walk down the Shoreline with Kingsland Road’s Connor – Part Two | Brumotions

Let us know what you think!

